1. Home
  2. My Scheme
  3. People behind the Scheme

People behind the Scheme

Anglo Medical Scheme is governed by a Board of Trustees (BoT), managed by the Head Office and administered by Discovery Health (Pty) Ltd.

The Board of Trustees ensures that the interests of the members are protected and that the Scheme is properly administered. In order to ensure that all active members and pensioners are served equally, members of the Scheme elect 50% of the Board of Trustees every five years and the remaining 50% are appointed by the employer. The Board of Trustees appoints a Principal Officer who acts as the manager of the Scheme.

Board of Trustees

Colleen C Elliott

After many successful years as Anglo American's Head of Human Resources SA, Colleen brings extensive experience in leadership, general management and Human Resources to the board. Prior to this, she held a number of senior management positions in the Human Resources Department within Anglo American, focusing on reward and employee benefits. Through the course of her career, Colleen has been the Principal Officer and/or a Trustee of all retirement funds administered by the Johannesburg Corporate Office, as well as a Trustee of several external retirement funds.

Colleen has been an employer-appointed Trustee of the Anglo Medical Scheme since 2010 and was elected as chairman in 2015.

Duncan McCallum

BCom (University of Witwatersrand), Fellow member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (FCMA).

Prior to his retirement in early 2019, Duncan was the Manager of Corporate Services at Anglo American having previously held various senior financial positions within Anglo American. He was an employer-appointed alternate Trustee of the Anglo American Corporation Pension Fund, a member-elected Trustee of the Anglo American Corporation Retirement Fund and held a number of director positions in Anglo American Group companies.

Duncan was an employer-appointed Trustee of the Anglo Medical Scheme from 2015 and a member elected Trustee of the Scheme since February 2019. He is a member of the Audit Committee, chairs the Management Committee of the Scheme and was elected as Vice-Chairman of the Scheme in 2017.

Principal Officer
Fiona Robertson

Fiona, a pharmacist by profession, spent 20 years managing hospital and retail pharmacies before joining Representative Association of Medical Schemes (RAMS) in 1996, later known as the Board of Healthcare Funders of Southern Africa. She held the position of Chief Benefit and Risk Officer until handing over of the Tariffs to the Council for Medical Schemes (CMS) in 2003. She spent six years at Medihelp and was broadly responsible for the management of provider relations and tariff negotiations. Fiona remained an independent advisor to the CMS on tariff matters for a period, served two terms on the Cochrane Advisory Board and served on the Profmed Board of Trustees as deputy chairperson for several years.

Fiona joined Anglo Medical Scheme in 2010 as Principal Officer.


Colleen Elliott, member-elected, Gauteng

David Abramowitz, member-elected, Gauteng

Duncan McCallum, member-elected, Western Cape

Dr Frank Fox, member-elected, Gauteng

Nicholas Mason-Gordon, member-elected, Gauteng

Philile Mhlongo, member-elected, Gauteng

Bridget van der Bijl, employer-appointed, Gauteng

Hugh Thompson, employer-appointed, Gauteng

James Liston, employer-appointed, Gauteng

Joe Coetzer, employer-appointed, KwaZulu-Natal

Nare Mamabolo, employer-appointed, Gauteng

Raynagan Moodley, employer-appointed, KwaZulu-Natal


Alternate Trustees

Mary Farrell, member-elected, Gauteng

Ntokozo Ragolane, member-elected, KwaZulu-Natal

Sharon Hosking, member-elected, Western Cape

Kayroon Ameer, employer-appointed, Gauteng

Tsitsi Matemera, employer-appointed, Gauteng

Head Office Team

The Head Office team consists of the Principal Officer, the Scheme Secretary: Yvonne Landsberg, Scheme and Clinical Manager: Elizabeth Gropp-Els and the Communications Manager: Judith Friese.

Head Office Contact Details

Physical:  45 Main Street, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa

Postal:  PO Box 65524, Marshalltown 2107, South Africa

Tel:  011 638 5471

Fax:   011 638 3187

Email:  email us here

Log in